PhillyBoy’s Cheesesteak Pasta


Tackling the rest of these was the last of last night’s projects:
cards1
They are only the most gorgeous cards ever:
card2
I am using them to write thank you cards to all of my fabulous new Philly ladies for my surprise bridal shower!
Since I didn’t cook last night, PhillyBoy agreed to blog about his fabulous dinner!!!!! He did use beef so if you are a vegetarian or vegan please feel free to skip this post! He is a pretty mean cook. As you all know, I live in Rhode Island while he lives in Philly, and the long distance can be really hard sometimes. Luckily we have iPhones and Macs so we can share pictures of favorite meals, clothes we want each other’s opinion on, and more.. only 4.5 more months right? Anyway, here is his fabulous dinner!!!
P.S. On my playlist right now: the new Jason Mraz album- it’s realllllllly good!!!!!
*********************************************************************************************
PB: So I had a bunch of leftovers and had no idea what to do for dinner tonight. I was going to make a cheesesteak wrap – and Rhodey Girl advised me to make a cheesesteak pasta! So I did!
I started with tomato puree…and added some olive oil, garlic salt, and pepper to add a little flavor…I put it on low to simmer and stay hot.

1sauce

Next of course was the steak. I used a 1.5 lb steak and had to chop it up (taking off all the fat)

2beef

I chopped up the steak, added some salt and pepper, and sauteed it in a pan…

3choppedbeef

I sauteed the meat in the pan with olive oil – but for some reason, sometimes when I sautee, the meat gets soggy – I’m sure there is something I’m doing wrong…
5cookbeef

So I threw the meat in a little casserole dish and put it under the broiler on high…

7beefunderbroiler

I put some ziti in hot water (oil/salt water added) to cook while I worked on the steak…

4pasta

Meanwhile, I pulled apart a fresh ball of mozzarella…
6mozz

I wasn’t sure if I was going to use them – but I found three peppers in the refrigerator and thought they would add some color..

8pepper

I decided to sautee the peppers – and the smell they gave off was so good – this was the best addition to the dish!
9choppedpepper

I first put the pasta in a bowl, topped it with sauce, the meat, and the mozzarella….

10dish1

Next I added the peppers (look how good they look!)

11dish2

I then added some pecorino cheese, grated on top of the dish, and put it all in the oven at 500 degrees while I cleaned up. And this was the result! And it was delicious!!! Best addition – definitely the peppers!

12-finisheddish

9 responses to “PhillyBoy’s Cheesesteak Pasta

  1. I love your blog! You are so sweet and happy all the time! I also love Jason Mraz, Lucky was my wedding song this past fall!

  2. Those cards are GORGEOUS!

  3. At first I thought that said cheeseCAKE pasta. Yum? (PB, your dinner looks tasty!)

    Those are adorable cards.

  4. those cards are great! love them! and i like the dinner- that looks really easy to make too!

  5. Love those cards!! Papyrus??

    That pasta dish looks absolutely amazing…I want some!

  6. the rainbow paisley cards are the thank yous my SIL sent to us for attending her baby shower 🙂 the invites were also written on the rainbow paisley note cards :0 GORGEOUS

  7. I love the cards!! Where did you buy them?

Leave a comment