Peanut Butter Banana Coconut Oatmeal


If you think you hate oatmeal, it is probably because you have never tried it with banana in it. Adding banana to your oats makes them fluffy and sweet, and I can’t eat oats any other way anymore. I learned about bananas in oats from Kath and Chelsea, and I can never go back to instant oats or banana-less oats!

This morning I saw we had one banana left on the counter, and since we are leaving for Colorado tonight, it had to be eaten. Enter: OATS!

Here is how I make mine…

IMG_3190.JPG

Peanut Butter Banana Coconut Oatmeal
Serves 1

Ingredients:
1/4 cup dry rolled oats
1.25 cups water
dash cinnamon
dash sea salt
3/4 banana, split into 1/2 banana and 1/4 banana
1 tbs peanut butter
5 g shredded sweetened coconut

Directions:
Heat water on high in a small pot. Slice half a banana in small pieces and add to the water. Also add a dash of cinnamon and sea salt. Stir. When the mixture comes to a boil, lower to medium heat and add the oats. Stir well every couple of minutes until the oats have absorbed all the water and the banana has slightly dissolved. Pour into a bowl and top with 1/4 banana, sliced, 1 tbs peanut butter, and 5 g shredded coconut. I mix it all up, and enjoy!

**Note: the Quaker Oats canister suggests much less liquid than I use, but I have found that the recommended amount leaves the oats a little too chewy for my liking. Also, I always use water and have never tried them with milk!

Day 3:

Breakfast   
Lunch
Dinner

Day 2:

Breakfast
Lunch
Dinner- recipe for Baked Breaded Eggplant

Day 1:

Breakfast
Lunch
Dinner

And a LOVEly Weekend.

12 responses to “Peanut Butter Banana Coconut Oatmeal

  1. I agree, if people don’t think they like oatmeal, they probably haven’t tried it with banana. It’s so creamy and sweet. Also, have you ever tried pumpkin oats? Just curious!
    Have fun in Colorado. I love how active you and PB are, it’s inspiring!

    • Can You Stay for Dinner- Hi! Thanks for your nice comment. I have tried pumpkin oats….but I spit them out!!!! I love pumpkin added to plain greek yogurt, but for some reason I just don’t like the texture in my oatmeal. Do you like them?

  2. You should definitely try replacing half of your water with milk…I love unsweetened vanilla almond milk or vanilla soy milk…makes oats even more creamy, sweet and delicious!

  3. YUUM!
    Oatmeal definetely looks some appealing when banana´s on it. Plus peanut butter!
    Holy YUM! Haha.
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  4. I agree – banana in oats is KEY. You should try them with milk though (I do half and half, water/skim milk)… they are so much creamier this way and you get a bunch of protein and calcium for very little calories. Have fun in Colorado!!

  5. i totally agree! oats just aren’t the same without banana! you should really try using milk in your oats sometime , it makes them super creamy! i like using vanilla almond breeze the best, the chocolate almond breeze is amazing in them too!

  6. cookingforaveganlover

    this is my favorite type of oats!

  7. What a great way to jazz up your oatmeal. Have used berries before but never thought of this combination! Looks really good and filling!

  8. I really don’t even bother eating oatmeal if I don’t have a banana! It makes it so much more voluminous! I mash my banana in the peel before I add it though. Also, if you ever try adding milk, you will love the added creamy consistency. Oh and I put my peanut butter in the middle and dunk my spoon in.

  9. Also, I always add more liquid too.

  10. I’m the total opposite with my oatmeal — I prefer it thicker. I haven’t tried adding banana, but I’ve got one last one sitting in my fruit basket at home that’s juuuuuust starting to get overripe…I’m definitely trying that tomorrow morning!

  11. Definitely try adding milk to your oats – I add only a 1/4 cup and it makes a huge difference. Also, try adding the oats into the water and stirring at the beginning before the water boils and bring the oats and water to a boil together – that makes them so much creamier!

Leave a Reply

