The Pug is in the Family


As we get older it seems that it becomes harder and harder to get together with our friends. We have weekend plans for months in advance, and it seems a spontaneous night with a friend just can’t happen. Luckily, I have been in Rhode Island all weekend with no plans! I feel like I am a kid in high school again. My only plan is my good friend’s baby shower on Sunday. PB is in Philly and I am here just hanging out until Tuesday waiting for PB’s car to get fixed. Side note: It has been in the shop since New Year’s weekend!

One of my closest friends Ileana and her fiance Pat bought a condo a few months ago, and I still hadn’t been up to see it. When I realized I had no plans on Friday we decided to get together! After work I zoomed up to Massachusetts and had dinner with them, her parents, and their pug DUNCAN!

Duncan sat at the table with us for dinner, even though the boys (Ileana’s dad and her fiance) were stuck at the island! These photos are for you, Tina!

IMG_2151_2.JPG

IMG_2152_2.JPG

IMG_2161.JPG

IMG_2163.JPG

Ileana made her famous minestrone soup, which I have been enjoying since 2003! It was actually the first soup I had ever made for myself, and it is easy yet delicious and healthy!

IMG_2153.JPG

Their kitchen area is really big and beautiful. I would spend all my time at that island if I were them!

IMG_2156_2.JPG

I really love their living room too. The whole place is already so warm and comfortable, and they have only been there a short time.

IMG_2157.JPG

The happy couple made one of Pat’s mom’s recipes for dessert. These little cookies were really good! I was good and only had 2 (they were as large as a quarter). I am not counting it as treat night, even though I also had a few nibbles of an Italian cookie and some peppermint bark.

IMG_2166_2.JPG

They are such lovebirds:

IMG_2174_2.JPG

Lately I have been trying to bring more of myself to my blog. I enjoy sharing the recipes I create, the recipes I try, reviews of restaurant meals and various products, healthy living tips, and sharing my life with all of you. Of course I also really enjoy sharing the menus I create and the parties we throw. In my life these days I have been focused on losing the few lbs I gained during the first few months of marriage (2 down, 2 to go) as well as trying to properly fuel my runs. Should I be sharing more about that? Is there anything that you would like to see more or less of? Please share in the comments.

14 responses to “The Pug is in the Family

  1. Welcome home-would love to see you 🙂

  2. I love your blog! I like that you’re sharing more. You are such a positive person and it’s fun seeing the world through your eyes 🙂

  3. Awwww! Aren’t pugs the cutest!?!?! Thanks for sharing photos of Duncan!

  4. What a cutie!

    I think your blog is perfect the way it is! I think your true self really comes out and I love that.

  5. I love your reading about your normal every-day life and interesting recipes. But not to be rude, I’m not an animal person so less pics and talk of that.

  6. Yes Please talk more about workouts you like/playlists/ work out clothes/ motivation
    those are my favorite things to read about like when you used to talk about working out more right before your wedding.

  7. Duncan is a stud! What a handsome pug.

    I think your true self comes through on the blog and I think your blog is fabulous 🙂

  8. Aww he’s so cute! He looks like a little old man just sitting there!

  9. Awww the pug!! I love! Smooshed in dog faces are the best 🙂

    What a wonderful meal!!

  10. We love it all. We love to see what you whip up in the kitchen as well as hearing about you personally. You do a great job with your blog 🙂

  11. what a cute little guy! How well-behaved to sit at the table. Our basset hound wouldn’t be able to do that lol Looks like a great meal and those cookies look like the perfect size! Just found your blog, looks great to me!

  12. Ha! I like when doggies are well behaved. I’ve never had a pet so I would not even know what to do around a dog at the dinner table!

    I like your recipes, stories, and workouts. I agree that your blog is a joy to read!

Leave a Reply

