Baked Falafel Video


I am so excited to present my first cooking video!

*Note: In the video I said 1 tablespoon of baking powder, but I did actually mean 1 TEASPOON of baking powder.

Baked Falafel

Ingredients:
1 15 oz. can of drained, rinsed chick peas
1/2 white onion
1 cup fresh parsley, loosely packed
2 cloves of garlic
1 tbs whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tbs cumin
1/4 tbs coriander
pinch of cayenne pepper
1/2 tbs kosher salt
1/4 tbs black pepper
cooking spray or olive oil

Directions:
1. Pulse all your ingredients in a food processor until it reaches a medium chunky consistency. It should take about 15 seconds.
2. Put the batter in a bowl and cover with a damp cloth for 30 minutes in a warm place until the batter has risen a bit. Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.
3. Using two spoons or an ice cream scoop, drop small flattened balls of batter onto a cooking sheet sprayed with either olive oil or cooking spray.
4. Bake for 30 minutes, flipping halfway through. Put the oven on broil (high) for 2 minutes to crisp up the outside. Enjoy!

*A big thank you to PB for producing this video.

25 responses to “Baked Falafel Video

  1. thanks for the baked falafel recipe and video tutorial!

  2. Food Network better call you soon!! 😀

  3. I really enjoyed this!
    I have been reading your blog for quite some time but have never commented but this deserves a comment. 🙂 Great job!

  4. really good video! I will make the recipe soon! Yummy

  5. Great recipe, love the video 🙂

  6. You are just so cute! I want to make falafels now!! They look super easy.

  7. What a star you are!! It was torture waiting for the falafel to be done – I was starving!

  8. Loved the video!!! I can not wait to try the recipe.

    Do you know if they freeze well?

  9. foodcents- My uncle swears by freezing them!!!! So yes, they freeze well!

  10. Loved the video. I have never had falafel before but it sure sounds and looks good. I don’t cook but hubby does so maybe I can get him to try it sometime although we don’t have a food processor.

  11. this is so awesome! great video, RG! Also, we never eat falafel because I had no idea you could just bake this. Veconomist loves falafel and will thank YOU!!!!

  12. Aww – loved the video! Good tip about flattening the falafel a little so it gets nice and crispy. Great recipe – thanks for sharing!

  13. I love this!!

  14. such a cute video! i love it!!

  15. Keep these videos coming…it was a huge help for people like me that are just starting to take a stab at cooking! Great job!

  16. Great job! More Jordanian recipes please

  17. Pingback: But what does baked falafel look like? And sticking to goals. «

  18. I’m making these when I get home. Can I use dried parsley? How much do you think?

  19. rhodeygirltests

    Lauren- I honestly wouldn’t use dried parsley since the fresh parsley is such a major component to this dish! Maybe try another fresh herb you have?

  20. I caved and tried it with the dried parsley. Not bad, I added wayyyyyyyyyyyy too much salt. I’m attempting them again today. I just went to Trader Joes and got some hummus and pitas. I better get them right this time. 🙂

  21. Hi there! I have been eying this recipe for a while! Finally tried it, but I didn’t have parsley either…so I used chopped spinach, and also drizzled in about 1 tbs of tahini before letting it sit. It’s about to go in the oven now- thanks so much for the recipe- it smells just like restaurant falafel so far!

  22. maha maaita bilbeisi

    I just love it Sabrina u r great, u should really have ur own cooking show, I can’t wait to try the recipe, thank u,

  23. I have never attempted to bake falafels before; I think I will now

  24. Pingback: 2009. « RhodeyGirl Tests

Leave a Reply

