Midnight Salad


PhillyBoy flew up to Rhode Island super late Friday night, arriving at midnight. I know how much he hates airport food and that he would be super hungry when he landed… what better food to eat than salad when it is that late at night? Fills you up without weighing you down.

SALAD

My 2 greatest tips to making a worthy time-friendly salad:
1. Lots of prep work ahead of time and
2. Lots of the good stuff

After work I got to chopping and cooking. I boiled and shredded some chicken breast, chopped up some peppers, boiled some fresh corn, etc. Then when PB arrived all I had to to do was take a little bit from each prep bowl and mix with a fresh dressing of salt, lemon juice, and olive oil. I had enough left over in each bowl to wrap up for salads during the weekend!

Here’s what this salad had:
-green pepper
-avocado
-arugula
-endive
-spinach
-boiled SPICY chicken breast
-fresh corn on the cob (Off the cob)
-artichoke hearts
-seeded tomato
-lemon juice, salt, and olive oil

I really love salad, especially when it is hot out. It can be such a simple meal or a more elaborate one, and it is so easy to get all of your needed nutrients out of one bowl.

What is your favorite combo in a salad? Mine is arugula, cucumber, and avocado with a lemon/olive oil dressing. Yum!

GETTING MARRIED IN 12 DAYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

11 responses to “Midnight Salad

  1. Romaine, spinach, grapes, dried cranberries, goat cheese with a balsamic vinagarette….sometimes I add a pear. GOOD!

  2. What a yummy salad! Mine would be: mixed greens, lots of fruit (strawberries, blueberries, pineapple), and pecans.

    12 DAYS!!! YAY!

  3. any salad with LOTS of avo is good in my book. glad your philly trip was fun. the countdown is ON!

  4. owwww! So exciting!!! 12 days! Salad looks fabulous. My favorite salad combo is spinach, romaine, orange, shrimp, waterchesnuts, lemon juice, olive oil- YUM!

  5. Only 12?! Exciting!!

    I adore salad.

  6. 12 DAYS!!!!!!!!!

    Ok so how do you go about boiling your chicken to make it taste good haha…the only recolection I have of boiled chicken is when my mom would boil it plain to make chicken salad. Chicken salad = delish, but plain boiled chicken skeeves me out. What is your recipe/technique for this 🙂 ?

  7. rhodeygirltests

    @Bridget: Yes, 12 days!!!!!!!! So exciting!

    Erica from Itzy’s Kitchen gave me the boiled chicken tip.. Don’t boil it for too long! I might do a full post on this sometime. I have found that if I buy the stir fry pieces (or cut a chicken breast into small strips) it needs to boil for 7 minutes, in salted water. Then I shred it with a fork and add lots of lemon to it. I was grossed out by chicken (even organic blah blah blah) for a long time but it is so EASY that I had to find a way to enjoy it again, and this is it. It tastes lemony and fresh and is perfect when tossed in a salad with some spicy arugula and creamy avocado. PB, on the other hand, prefers it doused in HOT SAUCE instead of lemon. Let me know if you have other questions! 🙂 Your wedding is coming up soon tooo!!

  8. Hi RhodeyGirl!

    I have been reading your blog forever and just love it. I have finally decided to be brave and comment, haha! I actually have a question for you. If you are busy with wedding events please feel free to disregard! My husband is graduating from Naval ODS next week so we will be in Newport and Providence. Are there any fun dinner places you would recommend? We will spend most of the time in Newport with 2 nights in Providence. Any ideas would be VERY appreciated! 🙂

    I hope you have the most amazing wedding ever. Enjoy every single minute! 🙂

  9. SallyAnn- Thank you so much! I am super excited for the wedding.

    Some restaurant suggestions for Newport:
    The Mooring
    22 Bowen’s Wharf ($$$)
    Ben & Jerry’s @ Bannister’s Wharf (they have adirondack chairs that are so comfy and fun to enjoy)
    The Cookie Jar: awesome cookies!

    for Providence:
    -hands down Siena Restaurant. Reasonable prices and delicious food. Get the caprese salad for sure.
    -Nick’s on Broadway: lots of local food. very fresh. pricey but worth it. PERFECT for breakfast

    If you need more ideas just let me know!!!!

    Enjoy R.I.!!!

  10. Getting comments from people like SallyAnn is just so cool, what a great blog! How awesome to have a fan base like that for all your recipies.

  11. I can’t believe its only 12 days away! It seemed so far away!

    Love your dressing sounds light and fresh! I recently made a cucumber dressing my throwing a whole seeded cucumber in my blender with balsamic, lime, cilantro and olive oil – so good! Counting the days!!

Leave a Reply

