A Simple Tuna Salad


Don’t you love it when you find a new mix of ingredients from your pantry/fridge that just work so well together AND is easy to put together in a meal? Oh, and is healthy? I know I do!

DSC01505

A couple of weeks ago, trying to replicate the delicious looking tuna salad that my sister in law made for lunch one day, I decided to take some ingredients leftover from a family brunch and make my own!

Here is what I came up with:

A Simple Tuna Salad

Ingredients:
1 small can of albacore tuna in water
3 sliced of red pepper (about 1/4 of a whole one)
3 sliced of orange pepper (about 1/4 of a whole one)
1/6 of a medium sized cucumber
6 kalamata olives, pitted
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
salt to taste

DSC01503

Directions:
1. Chop the red pepper, cucumber, and olives into teeny pieces and toss in a bowl.
2. Drain and rinse the tuna and separate a bit with your fork before adding to the bowl
3. Add the balsamic vinegar, salt to taste, and mix well.
4. Enjoy!

Did I say simple or what? I enjoyed this on a piece of dry whole wheat toast the first time, and over a mixed greens salad the second time. I promise it is really good and doesn’t leave you feeling weighed down either!!!!

4 responses to “A Simple Tuna Salad

  1. I made one similar to that, I added, olive oil, lemon juice, a few chopped capers, a little shallot, djion mustard, red pepper and tossed it with whole wheat penne and a can of tuna.

  2. Wow that looks and sounds perfect!

  3. This seems simply delicious!

  4. I like that mayo is omitted!

Leave a Reply

