Ice Cream Social: Edy’s VS. Stonyfield Farms


Heather and I had so much fun last night, but there’s no time to write about it now! PB and I have wedding meetings! More later! For now, I leave you with my ice cream adventure of Wednesday night….

DSC02419

Even though it’s raining, it’s summer in my heart.

Right now. In this moment. As I write this. It is raining… again. All I hear all night is ssshhhhhhhhhhhhhh. We have had maybe, MAYBE 2 nice days so far this year and I have cabin fever! I had to stop the madness! But how???????

ICE CREAM SOCIAL!

OK, so I had an ice cream social by and with myself (and SYTYCD), but it was tasty! And fun! And summery!

I headed to the regular market  (Shaw’s) after the gym on a special trip to get some ice cream. These days I only head to the regular market for seltzer water and Sabra hummus, so it was kind of a shocker to be there. I didn’t see actual food for miles! OK, maybe that is an exaggeration, but apart from the produce section I didn’t see much real food.

I heard about this new Edy’s Slow Churned Tart Honey frozen yogurt and I got so excited! I thought perhaps there was a version for purchase of the deliciousness that is Baby Yo or Pinkberry! I checked out the nutrition facts and at 100 calories per 1/2 cup I was sold.

Then, I looked at the ingredients. Hanging out on the ingredient list? The usual suspects: corn syrup! Ew! Blech! Yuck! I put it in my cart anyway and headed over to the natural foods section. I will eat something with corn syrup if it is absolutely, positively worth it, but I wasn’t sure this fit that category.

Next up? Stonyfield Farms. Oh how I love Stonyfield farms! Shaw’s had a nice selection of ORGANIC frozen yogurts! Woohoo! Also at 100 calories per 1/2 cup, it was a sure winner! I picked the After Dark Chocolate. The worst ingredients? Organic sugar and organic rice syrup (is organic rice syrup a weird thing? I had never heard about it before).

I am trying to eat less dairy but man ice cream is needed sometimes! I bought both. And a coffee Stonyfield Farms one. Tried one little taste of the Edy’s Tart Honey:

DSC02421

It was ok. I am sure I would have loved it more if it had ingredients that loved me.

The After Dark Chocolate won. I served myself up almost an exact portion (I AM getting married in a little over a month after all!!) in a cute little wafer cone (15 calories of nothingness that tastes so good) and enjoyed it! It was sooo delicious and creamy and yummy.

DSC02423

A little comparison next to my tea mug so you can see the size:

DSC02425

Putting in a little effort to read not only the nutrition facts but the ingredient label can make a difference. We all need to get back to the basics. Eating food that comes from nature. I won’t be able to do that all the time (the wafer cone is a perfect example), but I do try. I figure that most of the time is better than none of the time, right?

When your next ice cream craving hits, go for the Stonyfield Farms Organic Frozen Yogurt line. You won’t be disappointed.

9 responses to “Ice Cream Social: Edy’s VS. Stonyfield Farms

  1. yeah, i was pretty bummed to find the supposedly “healthy’ tart honey was chockablock with unpronouncable things and HFCS. I still polished off the container 😦 no more ice cream in the house for yours truly! 😛

  2. Oh, Yumminess! The After Dark Chocolate looks so good. I’ve never tried Stoney’s FroYo…may have to go look for this now.

  3. An ice cream social sounds like so much fun!

  4. Love ice cream socials, and those little cake cones are my absolute favorite!!! I’ve never tried Stonyfield’s ice cream, but all their products have never let me down. Have a great weekend!

  5. mmm love me some stoneyfield icre cream. Their java flavor is really good too!

  6. Re: Hummus – Buy one get one free sabra at stop & shop!

  7. Hope you have SO much fun with Heather!!

  8. How fun. love me some ice-cream!

  9. How was the stoneyfield farms java flavor? Looks so yummy! Thanks for the recommendations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

