A Healthy Mexican Quesadilla


I think I can call this a quesadilla and I think I can call it Mexican, but I’m not so sure.

Back to the food rut… needed a new meal to make. Here is what I came up with!

A Healthy Mexican Quesadilla

Serves 1

Ingredients:
1 small wrap (I used a 90 calorie wrap from Whole Foods)
1/4 avocado smashed
50 g black beans, smashed
1/2 oz grated mozzarella
2 oz shredded chicken (Erica of Itzy’s Kitchen guided me on this one- boil the chicken in water for 12 minutes then shred with 2 forks!)

Directions:
1. Assemble wrap. place all your ingredients on one half of the wrap.
2. Fold in half
3. Grill on each side for 2 minutes (I did this in a skillet over medium heat)

Directions by photo:

DSC02397

DSC02398

DSC02399

DSC02400

DSC02401

DSC02402

DSC02403

And for 310 calories (sans chips) this dinner’s a winner! It was so good I made another one to have for lunch tomorrow! I can’t wait to eat it!

Tip of the day: When you are really craving something junky but are craving that healthy feeling too, make a healthified (my word) version of that junk! For me this was that meal. I still felt GREAT and energized after eating it, but it also felt a little sinful….

Speaking of sinful, I just got an invitation to my own bachelorette party! It is going to be a weekend on the beach, next weekend. I am so excited! (I should probs do a contest to see how many times I have written that sentence in the last year, maybe a million times???)

Buon appetito!

17 responses to “A Healthy Mexican Quesadilla

  1. Laura (On the Threshold of Greatness)

    That looks so good!

    Have fun at you bachelorette party! πŸ™‚

  2. Yum, that looks great…I love the blackbeans & avocado together. Cant wait to hear about your bachelorette!!

  3. Sounds and looks FANTASTIC to me πŸ™‚

    Woohoo for the bachelorette party!! Have a BLAST!

  4. I feel like most night my dinner turns into something like this: wrap, veggies, beans and some cheese. This is a fav of mine!

  5. WOW! That looks amazing πŸ˜€

  6. I’m currently in one of those food funks where I need something new, please come cook something interesting for me!!

  7. I could totally eat this. Not spicy, right? Yum.

  8. That quesadilla looks delicious. Have fun at your bachelorette party!

  9. How did you know that I’ve been craving both cheese and quesadillas lately? Excellent health tip πŸ™‚

  10. Delicious looking quesadilla! I love healthifying some favorite “bad for you” foods. Some favorites are french fries and pizza. Now I’ll have to try this quesadilla.

    Get excited for the bachelorette – seriously, mine was one of the best nights of my life.

  11. YUM!!! I am making this for sure this weekend! It sounds absolutely amazing and so perfect for curbing cheesy-yummy-goodness cravings! Love it.

  12. did you buy the chicken shredded like that, or did you make it yourself? is this a silly question?? I’ve never done it before!!

  13. rhodeygirltests

    april- I made it myself! Sorry I completely forgot to add that part! Erica from Itzy’s Kitchen guided me… I boiled the chicken breast in water for 12 minutes and then used two forks to pull it apart! Not a silly question at all!

  14. OK, so the quesadilla sounded good when you mentioned it before, but it looks AMAZING! Thanks for the great suggestion- can’t wait to give it a try!

  15. I made this for me, my husband and our 3-year old boy last night! It came out GREAT. I added some fresh cilantro from the garden for a yummy touch and some salsa on the side too. We loved it!

  16. april- awesome!!!!!! I am happy you liked it! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

