A Lazy Day’s Cannellini Bean Soup


Thank goodness I took it easy last Friday night because boy did I NOT know what was in store for me all weekend! (mainly my bridal shower and fun with lots of out of town loves!!!)

PhillyBoy was driving up after work and I was feeling soooo lazy in the rain that I decided to make the most simple soup you will ever make.Even though it is June (Where is the sun???). I am not afraid to say it, this was so delicious I was sad to see it all gone. I will definitely be repeating this the next time in rains!!!!

DSC02202

DSC02201

Here’s the simple recipe:

Ingredients:
2 15 oz cans of cannellini beans, well rinsed
1/2 large white onion diced
3 cups vegetable broth or water
1 large handful of fresh spinach
1 tbs good olive oil

Directions:
1. Heat up the oil in your favorite soup pot and add the onions, cooking on medium for 5-8 minutes until the onions are soft.
2. Add the beans and liquid (broth or water). And bring to a boil. Once it boils lower it to low to simmer for 15 minutes. If the soup gets too thick add a little more liquid.
3. Add the fresh spinach and cook for another 1-2 minutes. Serve!

This was simple, easy, and most important, DELICIOUS! It was such an inexpensive soup and I had all the ingredients on hand which was great for my lazy mood. With a small piece of whole grain bread and a sliced tomato, it was a perfect meal… and might I mention a super hearty one!

Enjoy!

9 responses to “A Lazy Day’s Cannellini Bean Soup

  1. YAY for your bridal shower!!! So fun!!!

    Your soup sounds perfect for today…it’s so gloomy, feels more like October!! I love cannelini beans too.

  2. I was craving soup today too, how did you know? 🙂

  3. toliveortodiet33

    Loving the headband from your shower

  4. I think it’s raining across the entire country today! Everyone has rain!! That soup looks really good and easy 🙂

  5. Sounds like something I could eat every day!

  6. I’m going to make this sometime!

  7. Yumm that looks amazing!

  8. wow, that looks great! it looks like mac n cheese! mmm, i love beans 🙂

    fyi, im not sure if you have google reader or not, but i made some changes to my blog and now you have to change your google reader subscription to http://www.hungryhungryhippie.com/feed even though the website adddress is the same. if you dont use reader, no worries, i just wanted to give you a heads up – i dont wanna lose you!! have fun this weekend!

    xxx
    elise

  9. Yummy!! This looks so delicious and comforting 🙂 I love soups!!

Leave a Reply

