Oikos vs. Baby Yo!


Have I ever told you how much I loved Baby Yo when I studied abroad in Florence? I was there for 8 months and I probably had a Baby Yo 4 or 5 times a week once it got hot out. Ummmm, no joke. It tastes just like plain yogurt mixed with lemon juice and a bit of sugar, which brings me to…..

My friend over at Stonyfield Farms let me know all about the latest Oikos news! Oikos yogurt, to me, tastes JUST like the Baby Yo I remember so well!!!! I just had had HAD to share this little piece with you:

To celebrate the arrival of summer, we will be adding Strawberry to our line of organic, authentically strained Greek yogurt, Oikos Organic. Strawberry fruit-on-the-bottom Oikos offers a healthy and delicious treat all in one convenient cup. Oikos Organic is the best-selling organic Greek yogurt on the market today!

We will also be offering our Plain and Vanilla Oikos flavors in handy 4-ounce four-packs. With 90 calories or less and up to 12 grams of protein per 4 oz. serving, it’s the perfect size for a quick snack on the go, or a light dessert.

Called “yiaourti” in Greece, Greek yogurt is thicker than regular yogurt. Authentic Greek yogurt like Oikos Organic owes its lavish texture to a centuries-old straining process that removes the whey (liquid) from the yogurt.

For hundreds of years, Greeks have prized strained yogurt for its richness and creaminess. Before the time of mechanical refrigeration, Greeks also knew that yogurt stayed fresh longer with the liquid strained off. Today we know that straining makes Greek yogurt naturally richer in protein than regular yogurt, and lower in carbohydrates.

Flavors include Plain, Strawberry, Blueberry, Honey and Vanilla in a 5.3 oz. size. Plain and Vanilla are also available in 4 oz. multi-pack, 5.3 oz. and 16 oz. containers. Oikos Organic Greek yogurt is available nationwide in natural food stores and select grocery stores. Suggested retail price is $1.99 per 5.3 oz. cup, $4.49 per 16 oz. tub and $4.99 per 4 oz. multi-pack.

*Strawberry Oikos is just starting to be distributed nation-wide, so keep an eye out for it on the shelves near you soon!”

Thanks for sharing that fabulous news my friend!

I have been trying to lessen the amount of dairy I consume, but these small 4 packs look amazing in a pinch! And strawberry? I will surely be able to ease my friends into the world of healthy living with such tantalizing treats as organic strawberry Greek yogurt! Yum! I expect to make some smoothies with them when the office gets too hot this summer! I can’t wait!

2 responses to “Oikos vs. Baby Yo!

  1. traveleatlove

    Mmmm is there anything better than the yogurt in Europe?? Or any dairy there? I can’t wait to try Oikos strawberry!

  2. very good to know about the yo baby. it’s probably cheaper sometimes!

Leave a Reply

