Jenna’s Engagement Scampi


Is it weird that I wanted to propose to myself after making this dish? 😉

DSC02194

Yes, it was that good. In fact this dish is amazing!

My dad came home from overseas on Sunday and ever since the fam has had dinner together every night. I am loving it! I knew it was just my dad and I tonight and I also know how much my dad loves pasta, so I decided to test out Jenna’s recipe! I would  like to say that shrimp is one of those things I have always been afraid of cooking myself, but it was so easy. I don’t know why I’ve always been afraid of shrimp? I am so glad I overcame that issue.

What I love about this dish:
1. All of the ingredients, including the shrimp, cost a whopping total of $14.67, from WHOLE FOODS! And it would have easily served 4 (I used 1/2 lb of pasta). That is really cheap for a dish like this.
2. It makes the house smell just like growing up. I instantly relived the days helping my mom cook dinner and getting in trouble for not putting away my clean laundry.
3. The ingredients work SO well together. It is fresh but also super satisfying and rich.

Here’s Jenna’s recipe:
*Note: I used half the butter and skipped the bread and chives, and cooked 1/2 lb pasta.
***************************************

Jenna’s Engagement Scampi:

Ingredients:

1.5 tbsp olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

about 3/4 pound of large shrimp, deviened

1 tbsp chives

1/4 cup white wine

1/2 stick butter, cut into small chunks

1 tbsp lemon juice

pinch of red pepper

1 tbsp chopped parsley

3 slices thick Italian bread, toasted and kept warm in the oven

6 ounces angel hair pasta, cooked (2 ounces per person)

Directions:

1. heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the garlic and saute for about a minute.

2. Crank up the heat and add the shrimp. Toss until seared on all sides and bright pink. Remove shrimp and set aside.

3. Stir in the chives, wine, butter, lemon and red pepper. Boil until the sauce is reduced by half. Stir in the parsley and the shrimp again and heat through.

4. Toss the pasta with a bit more olive oil (to coat) and divide among 3 plates, along with a slice of bread. Put the shrimp on top of the pasta/bread and serve with a lemon wedge.
***************************************

This was really delicious and SO enjoyable to eat! I paired it with some simple steamed asparagus and salad but we couldn’t even eat the salad we were so full! I definitely plan on making this for PB many, many times in the future. (I bet his is so jealous that he isn’t here tonight!!!)  I can’t wait to let him try it!!!!!!!

You all MUST try this recipe!

5 responses to “Jenna’s Engagement Scampi

  1. Mmm shrimp and pasta is one of the best combinations, I definitely need to try this!

  2. That looks fantastic!! I bet that it would be good with tofu too 🙂

  3. I’ve tried this before and loved it too! It’s a great recipe!

  4. Oh my gosh that looks amazing. Consider it bookmarked.

  5. That pasta looks amazing – good job.

Leave a Reply

