I buy it and then I eat it.


If I don’t buy it, I don’t eat it.

So happy those chocolate covered almonds made their way back to the shelf before they mistakenly got checked out with all my healthy veggies! With the summer shape up plan in the back of my mind, it is a lot easier to resist the junk!! This week’s list:

-all grown up carrots
-oranges
-strawberries + blueberries
-oikos vanilla yogurt
-lettuce
-tomatoes
-zucchini
-broccoli
-whole wheat pita
-WF deli turkey breast
-5 butter toffee peanuts from the trail mix bar, which mysteriously didn’t make it home
+ the veggies and misc. items my dad bought over the weekend (remember I am back at home until my wedding?)

Do you keep treats in your house? I have learned over time that I really just can’t have them in the house because the minute I am hungry I will pick the treats over my favorite veggies.

12 responses to “I buy it and then I eat it.

  1. Hmm… I used to have a major problem keeping treats in the house, but I’ve found a solution that seems to work well for me.

    First, I prep/cut up a lot of veggies and fruits so they’re readily available for snacking when I open the fridge. I keep them in clear tupperware/containers that I can easily see. Second, I move the “treats” (or less virtuous snacks) somewhere kind of hidden in the pantry, out of my field of view.

    For me, what I snack on often depends on what I can actually see, so keeping the treats kinda hidden from sight and keeping the healthy stuff very obvious and up-front influences my choices! πŸ™‚

  2. gina (fitnessista)

    that list looks amazing!!! thank you for the little shout out πŸ˜€ i’m so glad you’re doing to shape up with us!
    i can’t keep treats in the house, except for dark chocolate. other than that, if it’s here i’ll eat it
    have a great day!

  3. i think you’re right… i need to stop buying. i tell myself i’m going to be good, but i haven’t been lately 😦

  4. I try to not buy treats either bc if they are in the cupboard then I eat them!

  5. There are some things I prefer not to have around like crackers and other carby snacks. Sometimes I feel bad saying no to Mark all the time, so we end up with bags of goldfish, etc. As a compromise, I usually try to get things I know I don’t really like, but Mark likes so he doesn’t feel deprived and I don’t eat my weight in snacks.

  6. I do my absolute best not to keep the tempting goodies around! Mostly ’cause I know myself and if they’re around I’ll eat them!!!

    Best to avoid temptation I say! πŸ™‚

  7. I try to have a few treats around but if I buy too many, I’ll avoid the healthy stuff.

  8. I’m with you – if I don’t buy it, Mike and I don’t eat it – so I avoid bringing junk home!

  9. Luckily I don’t really crave sweets so when there’s treats in the house it’s not a big deal for me. I usually buy things I know that if I get snacky on, they won’t be a big deal πŸ™‚

  10. I shouldn’t keep treats in my house… I cannot be trusted with them!! I would eat them way too often.

  11. I probably keep too many treats in the house… and I bake treats. Haha! I need to get it together!

  12. We have some treats in the house but I wish I could go without cause I usually always eat the,!

Leave a Reply

