Yerba Mate


Would you like some???????????mate1

Have you all heard of Yerba Mate? I am sure many of you have as it now comes in standard tea bags in the market! I find that to be really insane!

In 2005 my good friend Alex was studying abroad in Argentina and invited me to come visit him. I did! We had such a fabulous time there. It was so nice to not only spend time with my friend but I got to see such a beautiful city- Buenos Aires! Alex would NOT let me leave without trying mate the traditional way, so we went over his friend’s house for a nice afternoon of health and friendship.

When I tried mate, it was served to me in this gorgeous bowl which was actually a hollowed out gourd. Also, the straw to drink it with was metal, and we all shared it. This is, from as far as I can tell, the most traditional way to drink it. To me it tasted very very earthy, not like the sweet taste of tea. I would say that mate is to tea as beets are to potatoes. Similar type of consistency, but one is way earthier than the other.

(not sure why I look creepy in this picture, but it shows how one drinks mate traditionally)

mate2

A few other random pics from that trip:

LOVED this sign, as Alex and I met and became friends when we both studied in Florence, Italy. He was there from September 2003-May 2004, and I was there from January 2004- August 2004.

argentina1

I LOVED these nuts. I bought some there for my friend D, but they never made it home (sorry D, our flight was delayed!!!!) They now sell a similar nut at the trail mix bar at my Whole Foods!

argentinanuts

A trip to Argentina isn’t complete without the standard tourist tango dance! This was in Recoleta:

argentinatango

This beautiful bridal couple was found on a late night walk back to Alex’s apartment, funky no?:

argentinawedding

Alex bought a little mate set for a friend… he was faking it in this pic:

argentinaalex

I love seeing the world and I feel like I haven’t gone somewhere new in forever! I can’t wait for my Bora Bora honeymoon. And I can’t wait for tomorrow when I get to see PB! Two weeks is too long!

And just for fun…. PhillyBoy took this picture on our first official date! We met in NY for the day after having met at a wedding in RI two weeks prior. We went to this restaurant with the most Beautiful balcony overlooking Lexington. The restaurant is Opia and it’s in a cute little hotel.

firstdate~

I also love this picture taken on Federal Hill last summer a few months after he proposed. I had just gotten confirmed in the Armenian Church!

love

Back to the tasty beverage…. Have you tried yerba mate? Do you like it?

10 responses to “Yerba Mate

  1. I’ve never tried it! You & PB are SUCH a good looking couple.

  2. I’ve only ever had it in tea bags.

    I love how you and PB met in NY for your first day … so romantic!

  3. I bet that trip was awesome! Interesting story behind the tea!

    Bora Bora for honeymoon?? I am sooooo jealous! I want to go there! πŸ™‚

  4. You two are such a gorgeous couple!

  5. I love these photos! And my, you two ARE beautiful πŸ™‚

  6. Can’t say that I’ve tried yerba mate but I’m very jealous of your honeymoon destination!!

  7. Thanks for sharing those great photos with us! I’ve never heard of Yerba Mate before.

    Ps- Love your black and white top in the first “nut” photo… polka dots? Too cute.

  8. I love Yerba Mate! The traditional way of course.. in the little tea pot thingie.. I almost feel like a bad-ass too- cuz it looks a little like something no one will ever admit to doing … and yet most of us have tried at some point… *cough* *cough*

    the pics of Argentina are lovely!! : )

  9. Such amazing pictures!! I would love to see Argentina! I do not believe I have tried yebra mate but I have definitely seen it when I go into Teavana πŸ™‚ Love your first date pic!

  10. I am SO jealous Sabrina! I have seen Mate in TONS of telenovelas but have never actually tried it! I doubt Europeans even know what it is! Supposed to be healthy too!

Leave a Reply

