PhillyBoy’s Quick Calamari


From the love of my life, who made this on a random weeknight (before I moved my furniture down to Philly)
*******************************************************************************

finale

So the last couple times we have been out, we have NOT liked anyone’s calamari…so I decided we will now make our own!!
I bought 1 lb of calamari from Whole Foods and washed it thoroughly. I then tossed them in flour and cut them into rings.

Then to the batter – EASY!

* 1 cup all-purpose flour
* 1 teaspoon garlic salt
* 1 teaspoon onion salt
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 1 teaspoon paprika
* 1/2 cup water, or as needed

I made the batter a little thick – and then with my hands, mixed in the calamari. I let it sit in the refrigerator.

I heated up the vegetable oil in a pot (i like it better for some reason) and threw them in until golden brown!
calamarifinished
Quick easy and SO CRUNCHY!! Going to put them on a salad now (see pic)

finale2
*************************************

How’s that for simple instruction? PB did tell me that since he didn’t dry the calamari first the oil was popping all over the place (thank goodness he used a big pot!)

I love that PB can cook a delicious meal at the drop of a hat. I would never have even thought to make calamari at home for myself. He surprises me every day. I especially love that he sends me pictures of his best meals with cute little descriptions. Oh, the things you do when you’re dating long distance.

Also, he loves “that dressing” I bought from Whole Foods (Annie’s Balsamic). I love his Whole Foods fresh mozzarella. My WF might have a gelato bar, trail mix bar, wood pizza oven, huge prepared foods section, fresh pasta bar, and cheese station (no I am not kidding about any of that, it is one of the newer and larger Whole Foods), but his has the most delicious, soft, local mozzarella that I can’t wait to buy regularly in a couple of months (and begged him to buy for this weekend’s pizza).

Sorry about the blurry iPhone pics. Poor PB had to give me his camera for the last few months while mine keeps going back for more repairs. How many times will it need to be repaired before Sony will agree to give me a new one! Seriously!

5 responses to “PhillyBoy’s Quick Calamari

  1. OMG what a keeper, you definitely need him to make those for you!

  2. hehe, loved hearing how he sends you posts!

  3. Aw so cute that he sends you pics and descriptions of what he makes. =) A trail mix bar??? That sounds exciting.

  4. You have to try Narragansett Creamry brand fresh mozz. It is made on Federal Hill and is incredible…you can buy it at your Whole Foods or at any of the RI Farmers’ Markets….

Leave a Reply

