Lunch 03.31.09 & 04.01.09


Might as well end one quarter and start another in the same post! I didn’t have time to post lunch yesterday, so today is a two-fer!

Lunch yesterday (03.31.09): A green affair

033109

This was a big container of iceberg lettuce + 1/4 avocado, 1/2 tablespoon olive oil, lemon juice, and kosher salt + a sliced green pepper + 2 sneaky oatmeal cookies by Back to Nature. I could have had the salad in a wrap for the same calories as the cookies, but obviously cookies tasted so much better! They are not sweet either, which I love. If any of you have had a breakfast or tea cookie before that is what it tastes like.

Estimates:
Calories: 274
Fat: 18 g
Carb: 30 g
Fiber: 6 g
Protein: 4 g

Lunch today (04.01.09): A much bigger affair

Today’s lunch calories are more than twice than what I had at lunch yesterday. That seems to be the pattern with my lunches in general… one day I eat very light, and the next day I eat heavier. I usually eat a light lunch on days that I have a big workout after work so that I can have a much heavier snack than usual. Regardless of the calories, I still try to achieve 80% perfect diet, 20% fun foods every day.

Last night I made a big batch of pasta to have over the week… rotini with lean organic ground turkey, sundried tomatoes, and artichoke hearts. As soon as it finished cooking I packed it up in a few containers so it was all ready to go for meals this week.

040109

Estimates:
Calories: 627
Fat: 17 g
Carbs: 78 g
Fiber: 6 g
Protein: 43 g

Question of the Day: How do the seasons affect your workout schedule? I have found that I exercise most in spring and fall (both indoors and outside). In the winter the weather starts to make me lazy and crave my couch, a blanket, and a hot cup of tea. In the summer I always end up being so caught up in the fun of evenings out that my workouts suffer a little and I end up exercising less.

P.S. It is raining out so I am skipping my quickie run today!! speaking of seasons!!!

2 responses to “Lunch 03.31.09 & 04.01.09

  1. I don’t think the seasons affect my exercising level much. I am definitely more likely to crave my coach during winters but it’s usually a mental thing and I talk myself out of it. I kind of go through stages when I’m super motivated and work out a lot, and then through stages when I am a serious slacker 🙂 This doesn’t usually depend on seasons… just me 😉

  2. Grr, the seasons try to make me stop walking. But I shall prevail! Even if it means slush soaking through my boots and getting my feet wet. So maybe the seasons make me that much more resilient? hehe

Leave a Reply

