Radicchio Ridiculousness


Grilled Radicchio

grilledradicchio

grilledradicchioplate

Have you ever had a nice grilled radicchio before? I have, and it is so amazingly delicious. I saw some great, fresh heads of radicchio at the market last week and decided to try and make it myself. Well, obviously I need a cooking lesson!

I washed, cut, and lightly salted the radicchio before placing it on the hot grill. When it was done? ICK! It was sooo bitter, I feel like I must be missing some vital step in there? Does it need to be brushed with a balsamic honey? An eggplant style soak? What does it need?

Does anyone know?!

Luckily I made some yummy grilled zucchini with it. That was amazing.

grilledzucchini

Do you like my new Starbucks travel mug for tea?! It was on sale!

photo-35

HRM Trouble

I am all about trouble these days. My Polar HRM is not really working, and it is so annoying. I tried waiting 5 minutes until I was sweaty before trying to turn it on, I tried tightening the strap, but still it is taking either too long to catch my heart rate or it isn’t getting it at all! Any tips?

Wedding Stuff

Well, the wedding is officially 23 weeks away! Woohoo! I am going to be a future Mrs. PhillyBoy ha. I thought that we were “pretty much done with everything”. Little did I know that I had just finished one small phase and the next one was sneaking up behind me. Details! We have so many details to take care of right now, and my house is already full of boxes! Eek! This week’s list includes wrapping up all the bridal party gifts so I can bring them to my dad’s house all boxed up, finding paper for the welcome dinner invites and wedding itineraries, and thinking more about the ceremony program style! We have tons of appointments in the next month, it is crazy! I am reallly excited though. Any words of wisdom for us as we are in the final planning stages? Only a few more months until my stuff moves down!!! And less than 6 months until I call Philly my home, and PB my hubbie!

Happy Monday everyone!

Tip of the day: Smile! Life is so short, why waste it being sad/annoyed/ stressed/unhappy?!?! So smile and be thankful for all that you have to give to this world.

19 responses to “Radicchio Ridiculousness

  1. Nice tip of the day! I always say life’s to short to be miserable – it’s true!

    Ahhh your wedding is so soon πŸ˜€

  2. my advice is to get a big folder so you can keep everything organized and take it with you on the day of the wedding . trust me, you’ll be calling vendors to ask where the hell they are. πŸ™‚

  3. hmm, grilling raddichio is something i’ve been meaning to try, but it hasn’t happenned yet…

  4. Delish!!

    Fabulous tip of the day!!

    Hooray for the wedding!!

  5. I have never had grilled raddichio- sorry it was bitter- it looks so pretty! The only wedding tip I have is to enjoy every minute and not freak if anything goes wrong. No one will know something is wrong/missing except you and a few others and the day will be perfect regardless πŸ™‚

  6. I had the same experience trying to grill radicchio! Sorry I don’t have any suggestions, just wanted to elt you know I can commiserate. πŸ™‚

  7. rhodeygirltests

    Victoria- thanks!!!! i appreciate knowing I am not alone!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Great tip of the day!

    I have never grilled radicchio, so I don’t have any good tips!

  9. The grilled radicchio looks deceptively good, though!

  10. Wedding planning advice–DELEGATE!!! I know when I’ve been a bridesmaid, it made me feel good to help out the bride any way I could, so ask your girls to help you out. If I were closer, I’d offer to help πŸ˜‰

  11. rhodeygirltests

    sarahannmatheny- thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. Ooh that radicchio looked so good! Too bad it was a bust. I have no cooking tips for you… sorry πŸ™‚

    My HRM does weird things too. I still can’t get a hang of it. It always turns on and seems to be working but I just don’t always trust the results. Good luck!

    Re wedding planning, hire people you can trust. You’ve probably done it already, but yeah, as long as you hire capable people, it will all come together.

    Thanks for the daily tip. Too bad I’m stuck at my cube all day (too much work) so I’d just be smiling to myself πŸ˜‰

  13. gina (fitnessista)

    the radicchio looks incredible!
    sorry your hrm is being difficult.. hope it snaps out of it, fast!
    as far as the wedding goes, just make sure to enjoy yourself! that was the best advice i received… everything will fall into place and i have a lot of friends that don’t remember the pre-wedding prep or the actual wedding day because they were so pre-occupied with planning.
    have a great day!

  14. I’ve had grilled radicchicio, but never made it. I would say that you probably should use some sort of sweet glaze because one its own its bitter.

    Like Sara said, I would ask the people in your wedding party for help. That is what they are there for, so don’t feel akward and when I am in a wedding, I want to help and be involved as much as possible!

  15. so todd english has a roasted radicchio recipe that i think looks pretty tasty:

    8 garlic cloves, finely chopped
    ΒΌ cup olive oil
    1 tbs chopped fresh rosemary leaves
    ΒΌ cup balsamic vinegar
    1 tsp kosher salt
    Β½ tsp black pepper
    4 large heads radicchio, halved through the root
    Grated Parmesan cheese, for garnish
    1. Place the garlic, olive oil, rosemary, vinegar, salt, and pepper in a large bowl and mix well. Add the radicchio and gently toss so that it is well coated. Cover and let marinate at room temperature for at least 1 hour.

    2. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

    3. Place the radicchio in a baking pan and pour the marinade on top. Place in the oven and roast until the edges of the radiccio are crisp and almost beginning to look burnt, about 20 to 25 minutes.

    4. Serve immediately, with grated Parmesan cheese.

    and as for the hr monitor, have you tried wetting
    the…nodes…or whatever those are called on the chest strap? that seems to work w/ mine.

  16. The wedding is so soon! Exciting!

    I’ve never even heard of radicchio before. But it looks great grilled like that.

  17. oh my goodness, i LOVE weddings! my sister just got married in august and is having another wedding this august (2 weddings, same guy though… ridiculous, right?), and they just make me feel all happy inside πŸ™‚

    I haven’t been married, BUT, I would say just try to enjoy every bit of the planning. I’m sure it can be tedious and stressful but this (hopefully) only happens once, and in 23 weeks, you’ll end up with your beautiful, perfect day, and it’ll be over before you know it. so enjoy the whole journey πŸ™‚

  18. Make sure you plan some pampering time for yourself in with all the wedding planning. I spent a day at the spa about 2 months out and it did so much to help me relax and rejuvenate.

  19. I can completely relate to the wedding prep! I live in England and I am planning my wedding to be in Canada. We are getting married in (almost) 6 months! August 14th!

    ENJOY this time leading up to the wedding and like people have said already, ask people to do things for you. Don’t think you can do it all on your own! Your family and friends are there to help you make sure your day comes together as smoothly as possible! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

