Big News!!!!


I have decided what to do with my life!!!!!! Sorry I didn’t post practically at ALL yesterday but I was too busy with everything else on my proverbial plate.

What did I do yesterday?

1. I worked a lot. I got tons done and am pretty caught up which means I can leave at the usual hour tonight wahoo!

2. I ate a lot of chocolate. I was really in the holiday spirit and decided to just bust out all of my shopping. I had a few chocolate truffles while shopping because I was feeling so Christmasy. Not the best excuse, ay? We are not doing gifts in my family this year, but PB’s family is per the normal so I had to buy all those gifts from us! Plus Christmas Day is my dad’s birthday so I had to finish up his gift. I spent only $100 and got at least $400 worth of stuff. How? Well, don’t be mad but… we had registered for a couple of items that we actually decided we hated after we received them, so we returned them. I used that credit + 20% Bed Bath and Beyond coupons (11 to be exact) + old gift cards + old credits + more coupons and bought tons of gifts! So exciting! It is also my roomie’s birthday on Thursday and with all the extra coupons I was able to get her an extra little something I wouldn’t have been able to otherwise! Yay for that! I left work at 7 and didn’t get home until 10!

3. I finally made the decision of what to do when I move to Philly. News below…

***BIG NEWS***

For the last few months I have been trying to decide what to do with my life, career-wise. I seem to have all my ducks in a row, except for that one littttttle piece. The problem is that in R.I. I could have a lifelong career at my same company (owned by my dad) but since I am moving to Philly I had to start from scratch. After debating back and forth for the last 16 weeks, and chatting with both Tina and Gina, (thanks girls) I decided to just go for it. I am going to get my personal trainer and group exercise certifications. I think it is a great match for the following reasons:

-I taught dance/salsa/kickboxing for years and LOVED it
-I love being active and exercise is already a part of my daily routine (or almost daily)
-I have trained many friends informally since I have been around gyms for so long and I love it every time
-I am a really hard worker with a very strong business sense so I think I will be able to attain and retain clients
-As a group exercise instructor I will have a steady (although small) income every week, and as a personal trainer I will be in complete control of how much money I do or do not make.
-I will be able to have flexible hours which is great since my future hubbie works so much. We will be very balanced.
-I will not have to commute far as there are several gyms within walking/shuttle/bike distance, including the gym in PB’s building.
-Once we decide to have babies (in the next however many years) I will still be able to work part time at either the gym or training, while also essentially being a stay at home mom.

Since I am so busy right now between training my sister in law to take over my position, looking for furniture, planning the wedding, figuring out the move to Philly, etc. etc. etc. I have decided on the following yearlong plan:

Now
I signed up for my AFAA group exercise certification, which will allow me to teach any floor group-based exercise. The exam is February 21st and they say you only need 6 weeks to prepare for it so I should have plenty of time between now and 2/21 to study for it sufficiently. I will also try to take as many exercise classes as possible to start learning techniques, plus to get into really great shape.

When I move to Philly p0st-honeymoon (August 2009)
I will apply for a job teaching Step/Kickboxing/whatever and work that part time. Meanwhile I will sign up for my NASM personal training certification course. I will study for that for 4 months while earning a small part time income and feeding PB and myself lots of cheap meals.

After I attain my NASM certification (December 2009)
I will begin marketing myself and try to attain clients on a private basis (not working for a gym as a personal trainer). The timing will be perfect because of New Year’s resolutions right around the corner! My goal is to have 4-6 clients by the end of January 2010.

I am so excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

22 responses to “Big News!!!!

  1. CONGRATULATIONS! THAT’S HUGE! I bet it feels so good to know hat you want to do with your life! YAYAYAYAYAY I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU!

  2. HELL FREAKING YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ You will have TONS of clients, girl!!

  3. I am so excited for your life decision. If I had time to do a second job, I would do the same!!

  4. Congrats on your decision! Sounds like the right one based on your excitement level πŸ™‚

  5. That sounds sooo fun!! It would be so great to be able to plan your own schedule, and have it be something that u love doing! GOOD LUCK!!!

  6. congrats! do what you love and love what you do = my motto πŸ˜‰

  7. Yay! Congrats on your decision! πŸ™‚

  8. That’s great new Sabrina. Good luck!

  9. Congrats on your decision, and it looks so promising for you, especially with your month-by-month plans! πŸ™‚

  10. Sounds exciting! Pinching pennies while attaining certification is definitely worth having a flexible career you will love.

  11. very exciting! congrats on making the right decision for you!

  12. Congrats, that sounds awesome! So perfect for you πŸ™‚

  13. CONGRATS!!! Sounds like a great choice for you πŸ™‚

  14. CONGRATS!!! I think you’ll be great at it — perfect in fact!!!

  15. congrats! it must feel like such a huge weight is lifted off your schoulders having a plan in place πŸ™‚ good luck!

  16. As someone who is struggling to make a similar decision, I give you lots of praise for actually make one! It must feel great to ‘know’ where you’re headed – congratulations and I’m sure you’ll be great.

  17. thanks everyone!

    Katie- feel free to email me if you want to discuss.. i can explain how i came up with the decision?

  18. I’m so excited for you!!!! Ahhhh that will be such a great career move for you:D

    Also congrats on such an awesome shopping trip.

  19. AHH YAYYY! You’re going to be MY personal Trainer!!! <333

  20. Congratulations, that is such awesome news!!! Good for you for going for something that will make you happy and fulfilled!!!

  21. landoffruitsandnuts

    Congrats! That’s so awesome! I bet you’ll be very happy with your decision. I have been thinking about becoming a group exercise instructor too since I already go to a class pretty much everyday. I’m just nervous about being in front of a lot of people, but I think you get used to it. Good luck & congrats again, that’s amazing!

  22. You sound so happy about your decision. Best of luck with your studying!

Leave a Reply

