Week #14: $71!


***Edited to Add: I forgot I bought 24 rolls of toilet paper for $22!!!!***

Oh my goodness. $71. I didn’t do well this week. I made the classic error of going food shopping hungry. And I didn’t check to see what I already had before shopping, which is classic mistake #2.

market

Here’s what I got:

1 grapefruit
4 oranges
2 pomegranates
1 bag of romaine lettuce
1 lb of organic carrots
1 large english cucumber
1 avocado
2 portobello mushrooms
4 bananas
3 cans of artichoke hearts
1 can of kidney beans and one of white beans
1 large can of Muir Glen diced tomatoes
a dozen organic eggs
a container of Athenos crumbled feta cheese
1 6-oz container of plain 0% Chobani yogurt
a box of Ziploc freezer bags
1.2 lbs of organic hormone free ground turkey
Sabra hummus

When I got home from the market (at 9:30ish last night) I did a lot of prep work right away. Here’s what I did:
-washed, peeled, cut and packaged up the carrots and cucumber
-made a big meal to last me lunches for today-friday hopefully
-cleaned 1 pomegranate
-peeled an orange
-cleaned up the kitchen

This way I’ll have healthy stuff to munch on all week!!!! I know I did a terrible job this week, and I am going to try harder next week. The worst part of it all? I still have to go to the market again Thursday night because my friends are coming to town for the weekend!

History:
History:
Week #1 I spent $20
, and used a lot of the stuff in my cabinets
Week #2 I spent $30
, which included nothing too expensive, I guess I just bought more.
Week #3 I spent, er, $70!!!!!
I couldn’t believe it. And, I went back last night for a couple of forgotten items and a new mop which I never should have bought from the market, and spent another $30. Ew.
Week #4 I spend $70 again. PB is coming again this weekend + I had to stock up on some long lasting items, and well, it just ended up that way.
Week #5 I spent, get this, $0
. I am trying to clear out my fridge of last week’s goodies + clear the pantry a little to make room for this fall’s goodies. Also, I went out for dinner last night with my friends and will probably go out tonight with my dad, bro and sis, so that is 2 meals I don’t need to account for. **plus $10 for bananas and yogurt**
Week #6: I spent $60 and really stocked the fridge. Veggies, fruits, seltzer, wraps, crackers, granola bars, and a yogurt.
Week #7: $52, but restocked.
Week #8: $110, first week doing it at Whole Foods
Week #9: $36, at Whole Foods
Week #10: $18* but took lots of goodies from dad’s
Week #11: $68 + $5 for a loaf of bread from Great Harvest
Week #12: $52, good have done better, but it fed PB for 2 days too.
Week #13: $27.36, it was a really good week

4 responses to “Week #14: $71!

  1. Ouch! Hopefully a lot of things will be able to span the entire week- if not into next week too. Plus, if you keep using that ground turkey in 1oz. portions it will last a week of sundays!! Have fun with your friends, and you’ve done really well the past weeks so try not to stress 😉

  2. You are so dedicated to this– it’s so motivating to me. I need to get my butt in gear and save some dinero!

  3. Hi! Tiffany from Chobani here! I noticed that you are a fan of our product and I would love to send you some more samples to try. Just email me at Tiffany.gray@agro-farma.com and let me know where I can send samples to. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

