Week #12: $52 ($37 + $15)


I got in from LA yesterday afternoon, and after dropping off my bags at home I headed straight to the market. I find that after a weekend of eating out I really look forward to cooking wholesome, home cooked meals. I didn’t have time to drive over to Whole Foods so I just went to Stop and Shop. I think I did really well again this week considering PB will be in town tomorrow and Thursday for work so he will be joining me for dinner at home one of those nights (and dinner out the other night, hopefully).

Here’s what I got:

-3 cucumbers
-3 amazing oranges
-1 pear for this week’s BSI
-3 small roma tomatoes
-3 portobello mushrooms
-3 bananas
-a bag of frozen green beans
-a dozen farm fresh eggs
-1 lb of hormone free vegetarian fed ground turkey
-1 can of black beans
-1 can of kidney beans
-1 26 oz can of diced tomatoes
-a package of nature’s promise shredded mozzarella cheese
-1 6 oz plain yogurt
-1 package of Arnold’s sandwich thins (can’t wait to try these!!!)
-Nature’s Promise honey graham sticks
-1 small can of Libby’s pumpkin
-a box of Kashi 7 grain crackers

I will probably end up going to one of the fish markets around here for fish for tomorrow’s dinner with PB, so I added $15 to the number up there in anticipation of that.

Just to give you an idea of what else is in my fridge and pantry, I made a list. This list is missing a few things I’m sure, but I can’t remember exactly everything! Also, I have a roommate and lots of guests (including PB) all the time, so there are lots of things on here that you never even see me eating!!!

Pantry:
-meringues
-kashi oatmeal dark chocolate cookies
-roasted unsalted almonds, slivered almonds, walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts
-raisins, shredded coconut, assorted crackers for when guests come over
-6-8 cans of garbanzo beans, 1 of peas, 3 of corn, 2 of black beans, 3 of pumpkin
-whole wheat rotini pasta and lasagna noodles, regular penne pasta and lasagna sheets
-white rice, couscous, brown rice, orzo, egg noodles
-various teas, honey, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla extract, spices
-kashi Golean cereal, box of cheerios
-1 case of seltzer water
-open case of diet coke
-a few old boxed cakes and breads
-sprinkle toppings for cupcakes

Freezer:
-ezekiel bread
-kashi oats n honey waffles
-breyer’s all natural vanilla ice cream
-pine nuts
-frozen berries
-chopped spinach
-parsley
-cranberries
-mini chocolate chips

Fridge:
-block of cheddar cheese and pimento cheese (double EW)
-low carb wraps
-pickles (ew again)
-hot peppers (last ew I swear)
-diet cranberry soda
-a few random beers (including a pumpkin beer I think!!)
-orange juice
-kalamata olive spread
-artichoke pesto
-roasted eggplant spread
-apples, lemons, onions, carrots

I am going to start focusing on clearing out the pantry a little bit so that I no longer end up with a bunch of open containers (like all the spreads for example, and the crackers for guests too!) Do you have any good strategies for reducing the amount of open pantry items you have? What do you do with new items you try that you don’t like?

History:
Week #1 I spent $20
, and used a lot of the stuff in my cabinets
Week #2 I spent $30
, which included nothing too expensive, I guess I just bought more.
Week #3 I spent, er, $70!!!!!
I couldn’t believe it. And, I went back last night for a couple of forgotten items and a new mop which I never should have bought from the market, and spent another $30. Ew.
Week #4 I spend $70 again. PB is coming again this weekend + I had to stock up on some long lasting items, and well, it just ended up that way.
Week #5 I spent, get this, $0
. I am trying to clear out my fridge of last week’s goodies + clear the pantry a little to make room for this fall’s goodies. Also, I went out for dinner last night with my friends and will probably go out tonight with my dad, bro and sis, so that is 2 meals I don’t need to account for. **plus $10 for bananas and yogurt**
Week #6: I spent $60 and really stocked the fridge. Veggies, fruits, seltzer, wraps, crackers, granola bars, and a yogurt.
Week #7: $52, but restocked.
Week #8: $110, first week doing it at Whole Foods
Week #9: $36, at Whole Foods
Week #10: $18* but took lots of goodies from dad’s
Week #11: $68 + $5 for a loaf of bread from Great Harvest

5 responses to “Week #12: $52 ($37 + $15)

  1. Love the grocery haul!!

  2. I should start keeping track of my grocery expenses like you. I make lots of little trips so the $$ seem to sneak in and really add up!

  3. yayyy for the pear for BSI! I think you do an amazing job shopping! For Josh and I, I spend a LOT of money. Why is eating healthy expensive 😦

  4. Wow! I havent’ done that in a while and you are motivating me to get back on track with expensing (ps – I added more wedding pics, as requested, missy!)

  5. Pingback: Pages tagged "orange and lemons"

Leave a Reply

