T-2 hours!


Two hours until I leave for the airport!

This morning I was really hungry so I had a few pretzel sticks with a tbs of peanut butter and a mini farm apple. This thing was like half the size of my fist, it was so cute!

Then I did a bunch of work errands + picked up a few plane essentials for this afternoon from CVS (hair elastics, a new bridal magazine woohoo!!, and kleenex) and rushed home to finish packing my bag. I really hope I don’t have trouble at security because I put my magazines, new book (more on that next week- no time now), journal, snacks and toiletries into a small side bag so I wouldn’t have to jam my rolly suitcase into the overhead bin. The way I packed now my rolly will fit perfectly in the bin PLUS I will have all of my essentials right by my side. I travel all the time out of the same airport so hopefully some of my new friends are working.

I am really sad that PB and I aren’t traveling together but luckily my maid of honor will be with me!!!!! Also, I need to remember that this is probably the second or third-to-last time we will be meeting at our destination since soon enough we’ll be living in the same city! I seriously dream about that day every day, even though it’s so bittersweet to think of leaving my family. I guess it’s leaving one and joining another though isn’t it?

Sort of on this topic but sort of not is the idea of changing my last name. I decided this week that I am going to drop my last name and pick up my future hubbie’s. I was originally thinking of dropping my middle name and using my maiden name as my middle name, but I decided to just do First Name, Current Middle Name, PB’s last name. What are you doing/did you decide/do you think you will do? I kind of feel like getting rid of my last name is getting rid of a huge part of myself, but I’ve decided it’s the best option for me as my middle name is my dad’s name anyway (it’s a cultural thing), among other reasons. Anyone else feel like they are losing something special? Oh but I must also say that I am going to be so proud to bear my new last name!!!!!!!!!!!

At home I wanted to make some eggs but there were none left so I had a mixed green salad with a dressing of lemon juice, salt, and olive oil (so incredibly refreshing) + a small can of tuna and a low carb wheat wrap toasted with an oz of mozzarella cheese. Not the best lunch, but not the worst either. The salad was so amazing even though it was cold!

OK, I seriously need to get back to work as this post took me too long!!!!! Don’t forget to send me your Clif Z-bar giveaway entries! I’ve gotten a bunch of fun ones already!!!

17 responses to “T-2 hours!

  1. I’m going to change my last name and make my middle name my maiden name. That’s what my mom did, and it seems to work. I do like my middle name though. But I will definitely change my last name.

  2. I love my full name and don’t want to part with it. (Let’s just say my mom made it so it middle of my name goes ann-anne-and get it?)I am a HUGE fan of hyphen last names and I think that’s what I am going to do one day when i get married. I think when I have kids they can have the husband’s last name, but I want to keep mine and just make an addition.

  3. Hey Sabrina, I dropped my middle name and use my maiden name as my middle name. My maiden name is just so much more special to me than my middle name… I love having changed my last name though because it really does unify a couple (in my opinion : ) )

  4. I pretty much have zero connection to my dad’s side of the family, so I took Mal’s last name without question.

  5. I was going to hyphenate up until the last month before the wedding. I just couldn’t do it. I like his last name, but it wasn’t ME at all!!!!! I wanted to remain me – in real life and on paper. So I just didn’t do a thing. It was so easy! Haha. He was totally cool with it and said “I wouldn’t want to change my last name, so I don’t know why you would either.”

    Not sure what we’re going to do with the kids yet. He said once he might be willing to give them my last name, but I just don’t know.

  6. I’m dropping my last name completely, taking his last name and keeping my middle name. I have absolutely no qualms or issues with this. My last name is difficult to pronounce, spell, everything. Kicking it to the curb is fine with me — even though I am published under my maiden name, I’m still OK with it. On top of all that, it was important to Jeff that I take his last name, and since it doesn’t bother me at all, this was an easy decision.

  7. great question Sabrina! although I’m not even close to having to make a decision like this anytime soon – I’ve always wanted to keep my last name is some form.

    I also thought I would hyphenate, but this idea of using it as your middle name is verrrry interesting. BUT My current middle name is my mother’s first name so there’s part of me that wouldn’t want to give that up either.

  8. I took my Husbands last name. I always figured I would do this, but I did have a fleeting moment about a month before I got married, that I was losing part of MY identity. But…I got over it. I am still who I always was, and I like how it unified us as a couple.
    Also, it was important to my husband, and not that important to me!

  9. I will be dropping my last name and taking my fiancรฉ’s last name. I will keep my middle name as is! I’m so excited for this!!

    By the way, I saw you post on Caitlin’s blog about the dress you wore for your brother’s wedding? You were raving about how nice it was and I was wondering if you have a picture? I’m currently on the hunt for a gorgeous bridesmaid dress for my girls and if you’ve worn it 4 times since the wedding then that definitely has to say something! Thanks!!

  10. I’m only 20 – definitely not married ๐Ÿ˜€

    Have a safe flight!!

  11. i took my husband’s last name.. it took my after we were married for a year to change it though! i LOVE my maiden name :/
    have a safe trip!!

  12. i am currently IN the process (as in too lazy to start the paperwork!) of taking bill’s last name… i definitely think it’s important to do so for me anyway b/c when we have kids i want us all to have the same family name…

    have a fun trip ๐Ÿ™‚ can’t wait to see you soooooo soon!!!!!!!

  13. I used to think it would really matter a lot to me, but in the end I took my hub’s last name and kept my original middle name.
    I should note that my last name and Rob’s are VERY alike and both VERY Irish so it wasn’t a huge adjustment, you know?

  14. Hope airport security treated you kindly ๐Ÿ™‚

    ONE DAY, I do plan on taking my future husband’s last name. I think it’s kind of a fun part of marriage, I don’t look at it as losing a part of myself.

    Enjoy your trip!!

  15. Have soooooo much fun! As always food looks great! Love pretzels and pb what a yummy combo! I took Josh’s last name. I think it is def a personel choice and you must do whats right for you (which is different for everyone!). My personal feeling is you’re marrying the man, you love him and you are becoming one…have the same last name. But everyones situation is different!

  16. I have no problem dropping my last name…looks like I’ll always be a Nora K. anyway ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. I’ve been thinking about this. I think I’m going to keep my name the same. I’d hyphenate, but his name already has an apostrophe, and that’s just too much punctuation for a name. So I’m sticking with what I have.

    I know I am way late to this conversation. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

