Butt-kicking boot camp and the best bread ever.


This morning I went to a boot camp class. It was pitch black when we started. 5:30 AM. And cold. So, seriously hard core- in my opinion at least. There were only 5 other people there, all of whom have been taking it all summer (I didn’t know it even existed until Wed). I guess as it’s been getting colder and darker less and less people have been showing up, and just the most hardcore are left. It was…. intense, for lack of a more intense word haha.

Here’s a small sampling of what we did, as I can’t remember it all, but I do know that I burned 540 calories (insert insanely crazy smiley):

-ran up and down stairs for 5 minutes
-ran up one hill and back down it, then lunged up and down an adjacent hill. repeat 4 or 5 times.
-squats on own pace while waiting for the others to catch up
-a series of exercise with weights without stopping… lateral raises, shoulder press, hammer curls, bicep curls, pushups off the bleachers, dips off the bleachers. run up and down bleachers 4 times (i did stairs bc of ankle). repeat at a pulsing faster speed. repeat bleacher run
-jog over to the “suicide” hill. run up and down for 5 minutes. 5 minutes is a long time when sprinting up and down a hill.
-break for 30 seconds. then SPRINT as fast as your body will take you up and down the hill 2 times
-start jogging immediately.
-jog for 10 minutes to a short wall. do pushups, plyometrics, and 1 leg squats off the wall.
-jog back to the starting point
-do several exercises of abs
-cooldown stretch and go home!

It was awesome. I loved every minute of it, although I did curse to myself in my head once or twice as to why in the world I got up so early to do it. I am so happy I went!

On to the amazing Great Harvest bread. This new, rhodey location is in Cranston. Check it out here.

I had 4 oz of the honey wheat bread with pb and a banana. And hot tea and water of course. It was so good!!!

I was sad when I had eaten it all. By the way, before my workout I took a little bite of that baby piece with the one slice on it. Next time I will have a bigger preworkout snack though. Anyway, how to describe the bread? It is so hard to explain, but it is just so chewy and fresh and real tasting, if that makes any sense. My Rhodey friends, you MUST go there asap!

So happy it’s Friday! PB will be here in less than 12 hours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

11 responses to “Butt-kicking boot camp and the best bread ever.

  1. Oooh, that boot camp class DOES sound intensely fun 🙂

    FAAAABULOUS breakfast sandwich – oh my.

    Hooray for seeing PB soon!! Enjoy!!

  2. I love Great Harvest. When I was in college, one opened up and I fell in love. I bought at least 2 loaves every week for the next 5 years. I live 40 minutes from it now….so I haven’t had it in a long time. So sad.

    Thank you SO much for my wonderful “wicked” surprise box. My husband and I had so much fun opening it up and there are so many awesome goodies! We have already started enjoying them all!! I can’t thank you enough for bringing a big smile to my face!!

  3. I LOVE boot camp style work outs! I always come away with a good sweat and feel like I’ve actually accomplished something! And the best part is you really don’t need any equipment it’s all body weight and endurance based!

  4. Have I told you yet that I love that plate? I feel like I’ve seen it before and that I’ve told you before how much I like it…

    Hooray for PB being in town so soon!!

  5. So glad you like the GH bread!!!! Try the Dakota – and I think I mentioned the High Five Fiber? And the cheese-herb scuffin I had last night was AMAZING. But probably better saved for a treat 🙂

  6. OH YUM! that bread looks incredible! i will never find it in valdosta, though :/
    that class sounds so hardcore! i hate early classes when i get there, but when they’re over it feels SO GOOD– and your workout is done for the day!
    have an amazing friday!

  7. Wow, that boot camp sounds intense!! I know there’s a class at my gym but I’ve been too intimidated to try it!

    I love the breakfast – Great Harvest breads are AMAZING. They had them when I lived in MN.

    Hope you have a great Friday! Here’s that link that wouldn’t work on my post. Hopefully it’s fixed now! http://www.cookinglight.com/cooking/hl/nutrition/article/0,13803,1094736,00.html

  8. I ❤ bread hardcore. I really have no idea how people do no carb diets (or really low carb diets). That looks like an awesome breakfast. Class also sounds amazing! Boot camps are great with the right instructor! Hope you have so much fun with the man this weekend!! Any specific plans or just relaxing? We’re going to try another new restaurant in the Charleston area tonight! I am very excited!

  9. ha! You’ve already done so, so, so much more than I have this morning, it’s not even funny.

  10. I love your plate.

    And I was up at 5:30 for boot camp this morning too! We’re so hardcore and awesome:)

  11. Hello! Thanks for stopping by at my blog – though I have been slacking off in updating it. 😦

    Bootcamp sounds fun!! There is always one going on at the park where I run. It looks awesome as well as super challenging.

Leave a Reply

