Coconana Oatmeal


I’ve been meaning to try putting shredded coconut on my oatmeal ever since I saw Caitlin from seebriderun.com have it! Last night I decided that today would be the day!

Today’s oats:
1/8 cup steel cut oats (75 cals)
the other 1/2 of yesterday’s naner
1 tbs peanut butter
7 g shredded coconut (just a sprinkle)

I made my oats as usual and then added the coconut on top. OMG the coconut added the BEST chewy aspect to the oats, although they weren’t very coconutty. The chew factor alone though is enough to add them often! Thanks for the inspiration Caitlin!

I used to get so annoyed making oats because the pot was so hard to clean, with oats stuck all over it, and this filmy stuff too (from the cinnamon I think?). A few months ago I figured out the best solution for that, but I just realized I’ve never shared before! Here’s how to clean your oatmeal pot:

1. Pour all oats out of pot and enjoy.
2. Fill up the pot with hot water up to the oat line (if you get a film like I do)
3. Put the pot back on the stove on medium heat for 2 minutes.
4. Rinse out the pot with fresh water and use your sponge to wipe away all the bits; they should come right off with no elbow grease needed!

Try it, I swear it works!

My friend D sent me this link to a song by one of the Italian American Idol girls. It brought me right back to Italy in 2004 (I was there for eight months). We made memories to literally last a lifetime that year.

Personal goal of the day: Be more forgiving.

7 responses to “Coconana Oatmeal

  1. glad you liked the coconut! i’ve heard adding coconut extract helps boost the coconutty flavor…. but you’re right, the chew is worth it. Delish!!

  2. That’s a great idea for cleaning the pot! Beats my strategy of leaving it until I get home at night. 🙂

  3. Love the tip on cleaning the oat plan. I usually do the same thing as Erin – fill it up with soapy water and let it soak the whole day…

  4. “oat pan” – oops!

  5. Mmmm, fabulous oatmeal variety!!

    FABULOUS tips for cleaning the oatmeal pot – I’m definitely putting those to use tomorrow morning (too late to do so THIS morning, haha).

    Great song! Thanks for the link!

    Love your personal goal for the day 🙂

    Enjoy your Wednesday, Sabrina!!!

  6. Oh boy! Coconut, PB, and banana…it doesn’t get any better!

  7. Looks great! I have to try coconut in my oats 🙂

Leave a Reply

