XO Polenta


My basic polenta recipe:

Ingredients:
1 cup old fashioned polenta (NOT quickcooking)
3 cups water
1 tbs sea salt
1 tsp chopped herbs

Directions:
Bring the water and salt to a boil. Add the polenta bit by bit while stirring with a wooden spoon. Once all the polenta is dissolved lower the water to a simmer and keep stirring. After just a couple of minutes you will feel the polenta start to really thicken up. It will be done after about 20-30 minutes. When you taste it it should no longer be grainy. I don’t stir it every second after the polenta dissolves, even though everyone says to, and I’ve never had lumpy polenta. I kind of treat it like a risotto.When it’s done pour it out into a rectangular baking dish and let cool. Then you can slice and serve as you like! If you want it to be even creamier add a bit of cream, milk, or cheese.

The polenta in the pot, right after it dissolved:

And poured out into the loaf pan:

I had a little sample of mine with a bit of sauce and wilted spinach. It was awesome! a little xo polenta sure did cheer me up.

My XO yumminess:

***Just a little sample to show you all how easy polenta is to cook! Now go pick up some of this week’s blogger secret ingredient and get to it!!!!!***

5 responses to “XO Polenta

  1. Yummy yummy! I picked up some polenta today. Super cheap in the lose bins at WF. I’ve been racking my brain for a recipe all night.

  2. This looks great! I’ve never cooked with polenta so I can’t wait to give it a try!

  3. Pingback: Five Flavor Polenta « RhodeyGirl Tests

  4. Pingback: Blogger Secret Ingredient Party: Week 6 And the winner is….. « RhodeyGirl Tests

Leave a Reply

