Banana oatmeal raisin bars


Tina over at carrotsncake.com always comes up with creative options and I really just had to try one of them out sooner or later. I have been thinking about these oatmeal raisin bars since I saw them. As I am always hungry at the airport on the way to Philly, I thought they would be a great snack! They are pretty healthy, portable, and yummy!

Here is my version of oatmeal bars:

Banana Oatmeal Raisin Bars (each word deserves a capital letter as all the flavors are prominent!)
Servings: 18 mini logs
Calories/serving: 84

Ingredients:

1 cup of steel cut oats
1/3 cup flour
1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
2 tbs white sugar
2/3 cup water
1 egg
1 banana, smooshed πŸ™‚
15 g almonds

Directions:
1. Heat the oven to 375 degrees. Mix all the ingredients together except the last one.
2. Spread in a nonstick pan.
3. Bake for 25 minutes until the top is nice and brown.

Here they are before cooking:

Let cool before you cut them up!

This is really the perfect type of snack for the airport. Although I will say they are way too sweet, and small for the amount of calories.

Next time I would:
-reduce the amount of sugar by a lot, and add a touch of honey
-use quick oats or old fashioned oats for more volume
-keep the almonds as they add crunch to the chew
-did I mention less sugar?!
-I might add some type of lightener to give them a bit of fluff
-pumpkin instead of banana?

2 responses to “Banana oatmeal raisin bars

  1. ooh, hope you’re having a good time in philly! these are totally on my to-do list πŸ™‚ glad you tried some steel cut oats in them!!

  2. the steel cut oats made them nice and chewy- give ’em a shot!

Leave a Reply

