7 years ago..


It is amazing that it has already been 7 years since September 11th. Do you remember where you were when you found out? I do. I was in Developments of Western Civilization, a class everyone has to take their freshman and sophomore years at Providence College (I was a freshman). Father Tom, the theology professor of the class, came in and started with a prayer, much like he had done the last 2 classes. However, this time he talked about a tragedy in New York, he mentioned that an airplane hit one of the towers, and that if anyone wanted to leave to call family they could. We didn’t understand. We thought that it was part of his lecture to help us to understand the emotions felt by those going through another tragedy that had happened thousands of years ago (I can’t remember what we were reading). But when we got back to our dorms (McVinney Hall for me) and put on the tv to watch “The Nanny” reruns we saw what Father Tom was talking about. My floor was quiet and solemn. Girls who hadn’t met before (it was the first week of freshman year, after all) were consoling each other. Everyone was crowded into 1 or 2 rooms watching the news. I’ll never forget that day, and the months that followed.

One response to “7 years ago..

  1. I still can’t believe that it’s been 7 years already… and I still remember where I was/what I was doing, when it happened.

Leave a Reply

