Banana-y banana chocolate chip bread


Ever since last week I have had banana bread on my mind. I finally decided to bite the bullet and make it, especially as I had a boxed bread waiting for me in my pantry… from last year. It was time to use it up so I could move on and make my own again. So while this isn’t exactly a recipe to follow, it is an example of how you can doctor up a boxed bread and make it a bit healthier and tastier.

I added 2 whole mashed bananas + a handful of small chocolate chips. Also I replaced all about 1/4 tsp of the oil with extra water and the mashed banana and it seemed to work really well. When you want chocolate chips to be distributed evenly throughout all you have to do is toss it in a bit of the flour or mix before mixing it in.

VeggieGirl has a great idea with putting the bananas on top. I just left mine plain since boxed bread is already too sweet. Thanks for the inspiration VeggieGirl!

This is really delicious, especially for a boxed bread! I didn’t try anything new, unique, or fun this weekend as my roomie made a homemade apple pie yum yum yum. I can’t wait to try a piece later! Off to run with PB (we are attempting a long run for the first time since May). Yipee!

4 responses to “Banana-y banana chocolate chip bread

  1. Can’t go wrong with banana bread (obviously I’d say that, since I bake them so often, haha 🙂 ); and hooray for banana slices on top!!! Whoo hoo!!! Looks fabulous!! 🙂

    Have fun on your run!

  2. that looks AMAZING! banana bread is my favvvvvv

  3. Yummy!!! I love banana bread too. Yours looks so fancy with the banana topping. Good luck with your running.

  4. thanks ladies!!!

Leave a Reply

