The trick is to be able to make it again.


Remember when I said I couldn’t wait to make pizza dough again? I take it back.

Yep, you heard me right.. I TAKE IT BACK!

It felt like fall in my ‘hood yesterday and that means that I felt like cooking. Somehow fall weather = the desire for nice cooking smells in my house. Random connection? Maybe, I don’t know.

Anyway, PB mentioned oh-so-casually that the pizza I made a few days ago simply didn’t taste right the next day when heated up. Of course, that is not. good. as there is nothing better than heating up a leftover piece of pizza the following day. That’s what all the hard work is for right?

Yesterday I decided to try the recipe again, this time making a classic cheese pizza: WF canned tomato sauce (no time for homemade tomato sauce during the week wa wa) and a bit of shredded mozzarella. I followed the directions to a T and even read all of the tips, but yet again the pizza is just not right. The pizza stone and high temp (450 degrees) helped with making the edges crispy, but the bottom of the main part was doughy still but not in a good way, and my dough never rose to twice its size. Any tips on this one?

Oh, and I burned my wrist taking the stone out of the oven. It would have been totally worth it, IF the pizza had been delicious. It was just… blah. And of course I couldn’t just tell you about the burn, have to show you too (and yes, I just took the pic with my iPhone at my desk at work).

Anyone else totally mess up a recipe before?

5 responses to “The trick is to be able to make it again.

  1. I too feel more like cooking (mostly baking) when autumn arrives – it’s a great feeling! 🙂

    Sorry that the dough didn’t turn out as good as you were expecting it to 😦 I’ve suffered from several “kitchen mishaps” like your burn, and have botched recipes – it happens to all of us, no worries!! Hope your burn heals quickly though!

  2. Haha, I am remembering the time i decided to make half a batch of muffins, but only halved two of the ingredients… yeah not good!!

    I’m a little worried reading your post as I’m trying to make my own pizza dough for the first time as we speak (well, it’s rising now). My fingers are crossed!

  3. i can never get a recipe to turn out the same way twice.

    and why heat it up? cold pizza is the BEST!

    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  4. I make pizza ALL THE TIME. Here are my tips:

    I have an aluminum pizza pan with wholes in it (although you could use the bottom of a cookie sheet). I roll out my dough, put it on the pan, and poke holes all the way around.

    I precook the dough by itself at 425 for 7-8 minutes, or until you can easily “shake” the dough. I remove, add all my toppings, and then slide the dough directly on my oven rack.

    Bake until cheese is all bubbly and browned, about 7 minutes.

    You’ll get a cracker crispy crust every time!

    And I don’t use a dough recipe that rises.

    In food processor dump 2 cups all purpose flour and a teaspoon of salt. Pulse. In a 1 cup glass measuring cup mix warm (110 degrees) water with 1 package of yeast. Let sit 5 minutes. Before dumping the yeast mixture in with the flour, add about 1 tablespoon of olive oil.

    Add to food processor and let her rip, adding just enough flour (up to 1/2 to 3/4 cup) until the dough doesn’t stick to the sides anymore.

    Let it go for about 5 minutes and when you are done, just put it on your countertop and start rolling, no need for it to rise.

  5. Thanks for making me feel better about this!

    VeggieGirl- I can’t imagine you having any kitchen mishaps, seriously. 🙂

    ttfn300 : I bet those muffins were.. interesting.. haha. How did your dough come out?

    Kelly @ Grounded Fitness : I hate cold pizza, not sure why? Maybe because I like the cheese to be all melty. My fianz was so proud that I won that contest that he told all his friends hahahha

    Biz- Thank you SO MUCH for the tips. I will be trying your recipe the next time I attempt pizza!!! Much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

